Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Dec. 27, 2003 - 8:00 pm

Merry Christmas, everyone.

I had a quiet one. I got lots of good stuff, too. It was quite weird to contemplate afterwards. It was really one of the most pleasant holidays I can remember in a long time. My younger siblings like the chaotic, frenetic atmosphere of every extended family member crammed into one space, but I really liked the peaceful Christmas day I had.

Christmas Eve was at my grandmother's, your typical Italian fish-fest. My cousin made his fantasic linguine and clam sauce, even though he had to work that night (he's a corrections officer). His wife and two little boys were there, and it was great to catch up. We used to hang out all the time as two wild and crazy newlywed couples, and now they're a little more settled, and I'm a neurotic divorcee. Beth said to me "You have to call me sometime, we need to go out soon, before I get knocked up again!" If there was a life to be jealous of, they have it. They work hard, they get run ragged by the kids and bills and weird job schedules, but they seem content in the path that their lives have taken them. I envy them that.

My aunt, uncle, mother, and sister whipped up the rest of an incredible meal: lobster bisque, salmon, broiled shrimp, stuffed clams (and crab-stuffed mushrooms), rice pilaf, and various veggies. Afterwards we exchanged gifts, and it was nice to have children there to get everyone excited. Then, the nicest gift of all ... my cousin showed up, and my brother not far behind, both getting sent home early. Both of their wives were all smiles the rest of the night. It must be hard to spend so many holidays away from your spouse.

Christmas day was a quick gift exchange and brunch, and then all my siblings headed to their significant others' homes for dinner there. Me, mom, and dad just hung out, watched movies, and recovered. I messed around with my new CD repair machine (it really works!), then took Harley for a long walk with all of her new gear. Somehow, in searching for some little "stocking stuffers" for the dog, my sister and I ended up dropping $60 on a collar, leash, new toys, snacks, and other random dog crap. Oh well, she's a sexy bitch now, so I guess it was worth it. The Jones's dog is not nearly as stylin'. Next time Dad heads to the P-A-R-K (spell it, or the dog freaks out), she'll make all the other dogs jealous.

The next evening we went to my aunt's (other side of the family). It was a much younger crowd, and it was fun. The younger cousins are all teenagers now, and it's more rowdy and raucous. People who are old enough booze it up, and then we play Scattergories or some other random game, everyone yelling and laughing and telling stories. My mother is one of six siblings, three of them and their families are here today ... the ones still living on Long Island. The other three always call, and we pass the phone around. My aunt lives in the house that they grew up in. It is the house of my childhood Christmases, and so memories and stories of my grandparents and childhood are never very far from anyone's mind. Those are the very stairs that my mother and aunt slid down on pillows as children (and that I subsequently fell down at age 10, taking two of my cousins with me). The same stairs that they would creep up after curfew, tipsy and counting to skip the creaky ones. That is the very toilet that my mother put her brother's head in when she was 16 and he was 4. This is the table I was sitting in when I first heard those stories, probably around age 6, probably right after blowing milk out of my nose because of my uncle Jimmy's antics. My cousin Maggie sleeps in the room that her mother slept in from birth to age 20. The room with the window over-looking the yard, out of which my grandmother once through all of the clothing belonging to her teenaged daughters who wouldn't clean their room. I can go on for hours, and we often do, over Scrabble and pie and tea.

Being in that house creates a connection that just wouldn't be there if we were anywhere else. My older cousins, who live in New Jersey, often express regret that they miss these gatherings so often now. I didn't always understand that, as I have always taken loud and crazy family gatherings for granted. But having left and come back after so many years, I don't take any of it for granted. I now what they are talking about. This Christmas, I sat back and laughed and drank and ate and watched my sister scribble silly pictures while my uncle guessed things that Pictionary would NEVER put on their game cards.

It was a good Christmas.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!